Rhiannon is elected our new Students’ Union President

Written by Toby Cray

Rhiannon Jenkins has been announced as the new President of the Students’ Union on 5 March, after a somewhat controversial race.

The announcement was made over a Teams Election night, with Rhiannon reacting to the victory by stating: “Wow, thank you.”

Rhiannon, LSM’s vice president, then added: “Thank you to my campaign team, thank you to all the societies that have endorsed me, and being so supportive.

The other winners of the Executive positions were; Annemarie Deeb for Education Officer, Nic Farmer for Liberation Officer, Karli Wagener for Wellbeing Officer, Manoj Chowdary Kanikati for Activities Officer, and Georgia Manton for Sports Officer.

Rhiannon continued: “Thank you to my Grandad. All the other candidates were absolutely fantastic, you ran amazing campaigns, and I am really excited to work with you.

“Thank you to all the students who voted for me.

“I am really proud to take this role off of Mia who did such a fantastic job last year, and all the other officers as well. I am just really excited.”

Mia Nembhard, the current holder of the position, stated: “I am very excited, I can’t think of a better person to hand over the presidency to.”

Rhiannon ended up as effectively the only candidate in the race to be president.

This was after Pedram Bani Asadi was removed from the race on Wednesday due to three breaches of electoral regulations, with the only other candidate failing to produce a manifesto.

Toby Cray is a second-year journalism student at the University of Leicester. You can find him on Instagram here: @toby5.c

+ posts
%d bloggers like this: